Brief History of the Department

The Department started its journey in the year 2015. Presently, it offers 4 semesters Master Degree Programme (M. Sc in Physics). The unique course structure of M.Sc. (Physics) blends well the areas of contemporary and applied Physics to create post-graduates who are equally comfortable with science and technology. The department is offering Ph. D and Integrated M. Phil-Ph. D programme in the field of both experimental and theoretical Physics.

Vision of the Department

Rendering the fundamental knowledge of Physics and problem solving skills for achieving scientific and research excellence with embedded human values.

Mission of the Department

  • Continuous improvement of the quality of teaching, research and outreach programme exceeding the traditional standards and metrics.
  • To promote the critical thinking, openness to social, scientific, technological and educational changes.
  • Undertaking of collaborative projects, which offer opportunities for long-term interaction with academia and industry.
  • Establishment of educational and scientific centre of excellence in some branches of Physics in order to become better known outside the country.
  • Bring up its students as educated individuals imbued with Indian values and to prepare them to serve as good educators or scientists.

Programme/ Course Offered

Name of the Program Duration Year from which the Course Started Total Intake
M. Sc 2 Years (4 Semesters) 2015 University Campus: 30
B.B. College Campus : 20
Ph. D - 2018 -
Integrated M.Phil -Ph.D - 2018 -



  • Prof. Jitendra Nath Roy Dean, Faculty of Science; Specialization : Applied optics, Photonics, Laser, Nonlinear Optics
Associate Professor:

Vacant- 01

  • Dr. Puja Dey Specialization : Magnetic Materials & Organic Spintronics, Multifunctional Nanostructured Oxides
Assistant Professor:

Vacant- 01


Prof. Jitendra Nath Roy
Prof. Jitendra Nath Roy

Professor & Dean of Science


View Profile
Dr. Puja Dey
Dr. Puja Dey

Associate Professor


View Profile
Dr. Golam Ali Sekh
Dr. Golam Ali Sekh

Assistant Professor & Head


View Profile
Dr. Nandan Pakhira
Dr. Nandan Pakhira

Assistant Professor


View Profile
Pallavi Kalikotay
Pallavi Kalikotay

Assistant Professor


View Profile


In a very short span of time, the Department of Physics has succeeded in doing quality research work individually and in collaboration with nationally and internationally reputed Institutes.

Department has following Research Collaborations :

  • UGC-DAE consortium for Scientific Research Indore;
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai;
  • Department of Physics & Meteorology, IIT Kharagpur;
  • Department of Physics, NIT-Durgapur;
  • IIT Bombay;
  • Department of Physics, NIT Agartala;
  • Department of Physics, Georgetown University, USA;
  •  Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, 1/AF Bidhannagar, Kolkata 700064.

Research Programmes

Thrust Area
  • Applied Optics and Photonics
  • Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
  • Opto-Spintronics and Organic Photodetector
  • Bose-Einstein condensates, Matter-wave solitons, Optical lattice, Spin-orbit coupling; Nonlinear Dynamics
  • Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics– Strongly correlated electron systems
  • Transport properties of strongly interacting matter in heavy ion collision

Research Fellows / Research Scholars / Research Associates / Projects Fellows

Sl. No. Name Designation Supervisor/P.I. Research Program Remarks
1. APURBA PAL Research Scholars Dr. Puja Dey & Prof. J. N. Roy Ph. D. DST Inspire
2. SAURABH GHOSH Research Scholars Dr. Puja Dey Ph. D. RET
3. PRIYANKA BANERJEE Research Scholars Dr. Puja Dey Ph. D. RET
4. ASHIF RAJA Research Scholars Prof. J. N. Roy Ph. D. RET
5. SUDIPTA DAS Research Scholars Dr. G. A. Sekh Ph. D. NET
6. MRINAL KANTI MONDAL Research Scholars Dr. Puja Dey Ph. D. NET
7. ISMAIL SK. Research Scholars Dr. Nandan Pakhira Ph. D.

8. NITISH GHOSH Research Scholars Dr. Puja Dey Ph. D. NET
9. APURBA SARKAR Research Scholars Dr. Nandan Pakhira Ph. D. NET
10. SUDEEP KUMAR DAS Research Scholars Prof. J. N. Roy Ph. D. NET

Seminar/ Workshop/ Conference/ Symposium Organized

Sl No. Title Duration Sponsored by Level Remarks
1. Research trends in Multifunctional and Hybrid Nanomaterials (CRMN 2018) 21.06.2018 S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences. National On the occasion of 125th Birth Anniversary of Professor S. N. Bose

Ongoing Project Fund

Name of the Scheme/Project/ Endowments/ Chairs Name of the Principal Investigator/ Co Investigator(if applicable) Name of the Funding agency Type (Government/Non-Government) Year of Award Funds provided (INR in lakhs) Duration of the project
Core Research Grant(CRG) Dr. Golam Ali Sekh SERB Government 2020 6.97 3 Years
Regular Research Project (RP) Dr. Puja Dey (P.I.)
Prof . S. M. Yusuf (P. C)
BRNS Government 2020 34.62 3 Years


a. Departmental Library:

Department has a Library which consists of approximately 3 books per core course totalling around 50 books. M. Sc. Project report of passed out students are also kept in the Library. Library comprises a Reading room where students can sit, read and discuss the subject matter themselves.

b. Departmental Laboratory :
  • Photonics Laboratory: The Laboratory is equipped with LASER, Optical Fibre, Photodetector, Photodiode, Solar Cell, different kinds of LED, Interferrometer, Set up to demonstrate Pockel effect, Faraday effect, Zeeman effect etc.
  • General Physics Laboratory : The Laboratory is equipped with Hall effect experimental set up, Electron Spin Resonance set up, Band gap measurement set up, Planck’s Constant measurement set up, ultrasonic interferometer set up etc.
  • Advanced Condensed Matter Physics Laboratory: The Laboratory is equipped with Magnetoresistance measurement set up, Temperature dependent Dielectric constant measurement setup, Impedance spectroscopy etc.
  • Electronics Laboratory: The Laboratory is equipped with different kinds of Amplifiers, filters, OP-Amps, amplitude & frequency modulation kit, multivibrators, IC-based experimental set-up etc.
  • Physics Lab for Diploma & B. Tech/Engineering: The Laboratory is equipped with set up for measurement of Coefficient of Linear Expansion, Young’s modulas, focal lengths of different kinds of lenses, refractive index of glass, coefficient of viscosity of viscous liquid; Spectrometer etc.
  • Computer Laboratory (Central): The Laboratory is equipped with 40 computers with printers and internet connections.
c. Research Laboratory:


  • Spintronics Laboratory
  • Optoelectronics Laboratory
d. Facilities Available:
  • E-beam evaporation thin film deposition set up;
  • Experimental unit to study Light induced Magneto-resistance
  • Pulse Generator
  • Impedance Analyzer
  • Source Measure Unit
  • Electrometer
  • LCR meter
e. Outreach / Extension Programmes:
f. Students Achievements:

Students of this Department have shown excellent academic achievements -

* Two students from outgoing batch have joined Ph. D programme under DST Inspire Fellowship in different organizations.

  • APURBA PAUL, pursuing Ph. D. at Kazi Nazrul University.
  • CHUMKI NAYAK, pursuing Ph. D. at Bose Institute, Kolkata.

* One student has joined in Ph. D programme at reputed research Institute.

  • DEBJANI BANERJEE, pursuing Ph. D. at Bose Institute, Kolkata.
  • * TANIR AHMED has ranked 117 in the CSIR-UGC NET examination 2017.

    * SOURADEEP SARKAR is working at AG office Hyderabad.

Cultural events organised by the Department

Contact Us

Photo Gallery